Tara Fahey, Ireland

3rd year student

International veterinary medicine study program at WULS-SGGW, Warsaw

1. Where do you plan to work after graduation? Why? In what area of specialisation?

It is still very early days yet, and I am very open to mixed practice but, after I graduate I would love to work in Kentucky or in Australia specialising in Equine Reproduction. I’ve grown up in the horse industry in Ireland so horses are all I know really! I really fell in love with Equine reproduction during my studies in UCD and as part of my degree I spent six months in Kentucky on a breeding farm and had a really amazing experience so I would definitely love to go back. As I said it is very early days so my mind might change by the time I graduate!

2. How do you like to spend your free time?

Do you think there are enough opportunities for student life? What are your favorite places to go to? This year I decided to take advantage of the free time that I had because it can be quite rare! My friends and I have travelled to a few cities around Poland and also around Europe. It is so cheap and easy to get around. Usually I would to go into the city centre, go shopping, go to the cinema or gym, or just go on a night out etc. There’s not much difference between how I would spend it at home. There is plenty of opportunities for student life to people that want them. Warsaw is very student friendly. There are so many events, festivals and places to go out with your friends. My favourtie places are Lazenki Park, Paviloni, Praga district and Old Town.

3. Do you think that life in the city where you study is expensive?

Compare it to your home country please. No in general it is much cheaper. Clothes and electronics are the generally the same price but food, drink, transport, cinema and events are all so much cheaper.

4. What was your experience with the application process?

I had a very different experience with the application process than most students as I didn’t apply until mid August. IMS had advertised two openings on the course to start in September. I had just graduated with a Bachelor of Animal Science and therefore I was exempt from the entrance exam. The whole application process was about two days for me so, it was really quick and easy. I had a very short amount of time to gather the required documents but IMS was very patient and provided me with all information necessary.

5. Would you recommend this programme to other students?

Yes, I would recommend it to other students. Although there are many advantages and disadvantages to studying here, I feel that the good definitely outweighs the bad.